Five Cities Fire Authority

The Five Cities Fire Authority (FCFA) is a Joint Powers Authority between the Cities of Arroyo Grande, Grover Beach and the Oceano Community Services District, serving a population of 37,000 in a 10 square mile service area. The FCFA was created to increase service levels to citizens and visitors, to ensure consistent and professional training standards, and to increase operational efficiencies. The FCFA currently operates out of 3 stations with an average response time of 6 minutes.


In 2004, the cities of Arroyo Grande and Grover Beach collaboratively entered into an agreement to share one fire chief and training officer. This agreement was expanded over the next several years to include equipment sharing, a consolidation of the reserve firefighter program and the introduction of "boundary drops," meaning that the closest fire resource would be dispatched to a 9-1-1 call without consideration of community boundary. In 2009, the Oceano Community Services District joined the other communities and on July 9 2010, a complete fire department consolidation took place, resulting in the creation of the Five Cities Fire Authority.

Community Resources

PulsePoint App - Five Cities Fire, in partnership with the County of San Luis Fire Department, has launched PulsePoint Responder, a smartphone app designed to empower everyday citizens to save a life. Five Cities Fire encourages anyone who knows hands-only CPR to download this free app. Additionally, the public will have access to the County Fire dispatch feed showing all calls for service in the unincorporated areas of the county and several cities. For reference, Five Cities Fire units begin with a “66” 4 digit identifier.

Emergency Preparedness - View emergency preparedness information on the Five Cities Fire website.

Visit the Five Cities Fire Authority website for more information.